A. Sponsored research projects

Funding Agency
Amount(in lakhs)
Name of the Faculty Member
Role of Short Range Ordering in designing High Entropy Alloys 2019-2022 SERB-DST, India 34 Dr. Vikas Jindal (PI) and Prof. N. K. Mukhopadhyay (Co-PI)
Durability aspects of air electrode in high-temperature solid oxide electrolysis cell (SOEC) for hydrogen production from water 2019-2021 Institute Seed Grant, IIT(BHU), India 10 Dr Randhir Singh
Cyclic Thermochemical fuel generation 2019-2022 SERB-DST, India 51 Dr Randhir Singh (PI) and Dr B Mukherjee (Co-PI)
Recovery of valuable metals from waste printed circuit boards through modified hydrometallurgical routes.  2018-2020 UKIERI scheme of UGC (INDIA) and British Council (UK) 25 Prof. K. K. Singh (PI- Indian Side), Prof. Jason Love (PI- UK Side)  
Setting up of Advanced Research Center for Iron and Steel at IIT(BHU), Steel Development Fund
2016 - 2021
Ministry of Steel, Govt. of India
Dr. R. Manna (Coordinator) & all teachers of the Dept.
Malaviya Chair For Railways Technology
2015 - 2020
Ministry of Railways, Govt. of India
500 (Corpus Fund)
Prof. R.K. Mandal (Coordinator)
Structural optimization and band gap engineering of lead-free perovskite based photovoltaics
2017 -  2019
Center for Energy Research & Development, IIT (BHU)
Prof. R.K. Mandal (PI), Dr. B. Mukherjee, Dr. Joysurya Basu
Development of Electropulsing facility for Synthesis of Bulk Nanostructured Materials
2015 - 2017
BRNS, Dept of Atomic Energy, Govt. of India
Dr. R. Manna (PI), Prof. R.K. Pandey (Electrical),  Prof. S.N. Ojha, Prof. G.V.S. Sastry, Dr. Archana Sharma (Collaborator)
Studies on Improvement in Stiffness of Aluminum Alloy Fibers
2016 - 17
DRDO, Govt. of India
Dr. R. Manna (PI)
Dr. K. Chattopadhyay
Development of Ni-Free Austenitic Stainless Steel for Biomedical Application
2016 - 19
Ministry of Steel, Govt. of India
Dr. G.S. Mahobia (PI),
Prof. N.C. Santhi Srinivas,    Dr. K. Chattopadhyay,
Prof. Vakil Singh
Design and Development of Hot Corrosion Test Facility to Study Hot Corrosion Behaviour of Metals used in Marine Environment
2016 - 17
Dr. G.S. Mahobia (PI)
Effect of severe plastic deformation via ultrasonic shot peening on corrosion and stress corrosion cracking behavior of Al-alloy 7075, 
2016 - 2017
Institute Project (individual), IIT (BHU)
Kausik Chattopadhyay
In-situ electron microscopy at atomic scale for understanding nucleation growth and interfaces of omega phase.
2017 - 2020
SERB, DST, Govt. of India
Dr. Joysurya Basu (PI)
Prof. N. K. Mukhopadhyay,     Prof. R. K. Mandal,        Dr.  Imteyaz Ahmad (Cer.)
Alloy design, phase and microstructural stability of advanced amorphous, nanocrystalline alloys and composites
2016 - 2018
Seed Grant, IIT (BHU)
11 .00
Dr. Joysurya Basu (PI)
Development and structural characterization of Bi2-xMxO3+x(y-3)/2 (M=Fe, Cr, Mn) coating for protection against liquid coolant and sensors
2017 - 2020
UGC-DAE-CSIR, Govt. of India
Dr. Joysurya Basu (PI)
Dr. N. K. Prasad
Studies on Inverse Hall-Pech Behaviour  of Materials
2015 - 2017
Indian National Academy of Engineering(INAE Chairship)
Prof. N.K. Mukhopadhyay (PI)
Design of Broad spectrum ‘Rainbow Solar Cell’
2013 - 2018
DST-INSPIRE Faculty Award
Dr. Bratindranath Mukherjee (PI)
Design and Development of Indigenous Dental Implant of Titanium
2015 - 2018
DST, Govt. of India
Dr. Rajesh Bansal, IMS-BHU (PI)
Dr. K. Chattopadhyay (Co-PI), Prof. S.K. Sinha (Co-PI)



 B. Industrial consultancy projects
Amount (in lakhs of Rs.)
Name of Faculty Member
Assisting NCL in short listing of vendors under – Make in India, for import substitution and establishing an indigenous supply chain for replacement of HEMM spares and reduce the reliance on overseas sources for supply of high value HEMM spares
205  days (during no class period) 
Sanction Date: 15.11.2016
NCL, Singrauli
Dr. O.P. Sinha &        Dr. J.K. Singh
Review a Hydrometallurgical Technology developed for Hindustan Copper Ltd.
2017 (completed)
Hindustan Copper Limited
Prof. T.R. Mankhand & Dr. K.K. Singh
Evaluation of SAILMA 550 grade steel, Examination of IIT Roorkee Report and
providing expert opinion on Penstock bursting.
Dr. R. Manna (PI),   Prof. S. N. Ojha,  Prof. R. K. Mandal,  Prof. N. K. Mukhopadhyay,  Prof. N. C. Santhi Srinivas, Prof. B. N. Sarma,
Dr. K. Chattopadhyay,  Dr. J. Basu,    Dr. S. K. Panda (Mec. Engg)