## Malaviya Chair for Railway Technology

The MoU was signed between The Ministry of Railways (Government of India), New Delhi and The Indian Institute of Technology (Banaras Hindu University), Varanasi for setting up of an Academic Chair by the Ministry of Railways at IIT(BHU) on 8<sup>th</sup> June 2015.

The Chair is called 'Malaviya Chair for Railway Technology' and has been set up to commemorate the founding of Banaras Hindu University by Pandit Madan Mohan Malviya.

The main objective of Malaviya Chair is to promote research and development of new materials for use in various assets of Railways. The operational fund of Malaviya Chair is through the interest accrued on the Endowment fund is granted to IIT(BHU) by the Ministry of Railways.

Prof. Rajnesh Tyagi, Department of Mechanical Engineering, IIT(BHU) has been appointed as Chair Professor for Malaviya Chair for Railway Technology.

A 'Chair Core Committee' (CCC) has been set up to identify proposed areas of projects for application in the Railways, frame guidelines for the operation and management of the CCC including approval and annual projection of funds for taking up various research & development projects and design consultancy activities. The CCC shall meet at least once in six months to review the performance of Malaviya Chair and progress of projects.